Beats By Dre: From Sneakers to Headphones – Hip Hop Culture & The Terrible Choices We Make as Consumers.

IMG_9837And out of speakers I did speak
I wore my sneakers but I’m not a sneak
My Adidas cuts the sand of a foreign land
with mic in hand I cold took command
my Adidas and me, close as can be
we make a mean team, my Adidas and me
we get around together, rhyme forever
and we won’t be mad when worn in bad weather
– My Adidas, Run DMC

Rewind 

One fateful night in NYC, somewhere around the mid 80s, Russell Simmons, brother to Reverend Run and manager of Run DMC, was smoking Angel Dust when a flash of brilliance struck him, like a thunderous blow. When the rap crew rolled up on Two Fifth Street, he told them immediately they needed to write a song about the kicks they wore. In 1986, Simmons’ prophecy would come true, and My Adidas became the first single on their third album, Raising Hell. It would become both…

View original post 939 more words

Leave a Reply

